CII Award for Food Safety 2017 - Overview

CII is happy to invite your Organisation and your Suppliers/Co-Packers/Partners which are engaged in Food Manufacturing and Food Service establishments to participate in the 8th CII Food Safety Award 2017.


We are indeed proud to say that the Award and other levels of recognition were given away by Mr Ashish Bahuguna-Chairperson FSSAI, Mrs Awilo Pernet-Chairperson Codex Alimentarius Commission and Mrs Anuradha Prasad, Joint Secretary Ministry of Food Processing Industries at the glittering Food Safety Awards Night on 6th December, 2016 in New Delhi during the 11th Food Safety and Quality Summit.


The CII Award for Food Safety was launched in India in 2010 and has grown by more than 10 folds since then. Besides sector specific Good Manufacturing practices & Food Safety Management Systems, the model encompasses Regulatory & Social Compliance and Change Management initiatives. The criteria for Food Safety Systems are drawn from the Food Safety and Standards Act, Rules & Regulations 2011, ISO 22000/FSSC 22000 standards, Codex & Industry best practices.

This Sector specific Award program is open to Indian food businesses in the Small, Medium & Large Scale category of Manufacturing, Hotels, Restaurants, Catering, Food Warehousing, Wholesale, Primary F/V Production, Food Transporters, Retail and Service Providers to Food Chain like Cleaning, Sanitation, Packaging & their overseas units (Table 1 ). Additionally Street Food is included as a separate category.


Applications will have to be unit specific and CII will be seeking good practices that showcase the establishments’ food safety strategy and its deployment through systems, results and various other Change Management Initiatives.


Participating in the Food Safety Award program would  provide companies with the opportunity of:

  • National level recognition

  • Build Capability of the unit's Food Safety Team through the Assessment process and Interaction with a select group of highly experienced Food professionals & domain experts who have received wide exposure to global food safety standards and are trained by CII on the Award Model.

  • Insight on the gaps from an external perspective, based on national and international standards & guidelines ,customized for the various sizes and stimulating solutions

  • Comparing with best in class and creating a competitive edge for access to global markets and consumers.

Additionally, we shall be hosting the names of all recognition winners since 2010 on our website very shortly.  

Key Dates : CII Award for Food Safety 2017

Submission of Letter of Intent to CII FACE

15th April

Submission of Application Document to CII-FACE

6th May

Site Visits

June - August

Awards Committee and Jury Meetings

September and October

Award Announcement & Dispatch of Feedback Reports

By December 2017


We do hope that your own establishments as well as those of your suppliers/co-packers, would participate in this Award program to leverage its manifold benefits.


Please fill in the ‘Letter of Intent’ attached (one for each Applicant Unit) and send it to the CII Award Secretariat with the Application fees, latest by 15th April 2017.  CII will then mail the prescribed format in which the Application document has to be submitted. The format is in the form of checklists simple & easy to fill in.