CIIis happy to invite your Organisation and your Suppliers which are engaged in Food Manufacturing and Food Service establishments to participate in the CII Food Safety Award 2016.


We are indeed proud to say that the Award and other levels of recognition were given away by MrsAnuradha Prasad, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Food Processing Industries, Govt of India at the glittering Food Safety Awards Night on 1st December, 2015 at New Delhi. She was joined by Dr MrinaliniDarswal, IAS, Food Commissioner Govt of NCT, Delhi. Mr Ashish Bahuguna, Chairperson, FSSAI congratulated all the winners during the Awards Night.


The CII National Award for Food Safety was launched in India in 2010 and has grown by more than 8 folds since then. Besides sector specific Good Manufacturing practices & Food Safety Management Systems, the model encompasses Regulatory & Social Compliance and Change Management initiatives. The criteria for Food Safety Systems are drawn from  new Food Safety and Standards Act, Rules & Regulations 2011, ISO 22000/FSSC 22000 standards, Codex & Industry best practices.

This Award program is open to Indian food businesses in the Small, Medium & Large Scale category of Manufacturing, Hotels, Restaurants, Catering, Food Warehousing and C&F Agents, Food Transporters, Retail and Service Providers to Food Chain like Cleaning, Sanitation, Packaging, Equipment Manufacturers, Pest Management Agencies & their overseas units (Table 1).


Since 2013, Sector Specific Awards were introduced. Additionally Street Food was included as a separate category.


Applications will have to be unit specific and units who have started commercial production are eligible to apply CII will be seeking good practices that showcase the establishments’ food safety strategy and its deployment through systems, results and various other Change Management Initiatives.


Benefits of participating in the Award Program as Award Applicants


Participating in the Food Safety Award program would provide companies with the opportunity of:

·         National level recognition

·         Build Capability of the unit's Food Safety Team through the Assessment process and Interaction with a select group of highly experienced Food professionals & domain experts who have received wide exposure to global food safety standards and are trained by CII on the Award Model.

·         Insight on the gaps from an external perspective, based on national and international standards & guidelines ,customized for the various sizes and stimulating solutions

·         Comparing with best in class and creating a competitive edge for access to global markets and consumers.

Key Dates: CII National Award for Food Safety 2016


Submission of Letter of Intent to CII-FACE

15 June

Submission of Application Document to CII-FACE

22 June

Site Visits

June - August

Awards Committee and Jury Meetings

September and October

Award Announcement & Dispatch of Feedback Reports

By December 2016


We do hope that your own establishments as well as those of your suppliers, would participate in this Award program to leverage its manifold benefits.


Please fill in the ‘Letter of Intent’ (one for each Applicant Unit) and send it to the CII Award Secretariat with the Application fees, latest by 15th June 2016.  CII will then mail the prescribed format in which the Application document has to be submitted. The format is in the form of checklists,simple & easy to fill in.